Donetsk and Donetsk region. Rest in Donetsk and Donetsk region

The history of Donetsk region began with free wind of unfettered steppes, scent of the wild herbage, neighing of brumbies and militants shouts of nomads. Scythians, Sarmatians, Polovtians were rendering habitable the Wild field, leaving the imprint of their history, culture and customs on the Donetsk land, inserting the narrations about glorious battles into the historical chronicle. Exactly the pictures of their life, their traditions and battles underlay “The Word about Igor’s Regiment”. Indeed, many ethnographers proved that events which described the famous battles of Prince Igor, took place on the territory of Donetsk land.

Донецк

Donetsk is a miner capital

 Then nomads were substituted by Zaporozhyan Cossacks. Having equipped settlements (zimovniki) on the territory of future Donetsk, they protected the way from Don to Zaporozhye, were engaged in cattle breeding and agriculture. The age of the salt production came after the age of Cossacks. The small state salterns outgrew in the first saltern factories of the Donetsk region: Bakhmutskiy and Torskiy. And in 1721 the coal was found on the Donetsk land and the history of the development of Donetsk region, having made last abrupt turn, headed for the development of the coal output and factory manufacture.

The factory settlement Yuzovka which had arisen round the first metallurgical plant outgrew in the industrial city of Stalino which in 1932 was renamed into Donetsk – a city of industrial waste heaps and the fragrant roses, developed industry and rich entertaining infrastructure, a city of affable and smiling people – the heart of Donetsk land.

Donetsk nowadays is a miner capital where diligence and persistence of people have allowed to create a powerful industrial complex, to result the development of variety of key industrial branches and thus to put Donetsk in one line with the most beautiful European cities. Spacious parks and the squares full of greens and fragrant flowers, the European architecture of constructions, high level of service of ultramodern hotels, restaurants, trading-entertaining and sports complexes, goodwill and comfortable atmosphere make feel in Donetsk as at home and want to come back here again and again.

Donetsk area is a suitable frame to the main diamond – to the city of Donetsk. It is possible to find hi-tech factories and plants, the first class hotel complexes and cozy guest cottages, “tasty” restaurants and “incendiary” night clubs, unique monuments of history and culture, unique works of art created by the nature – steppe reserves, wildlife preserves, landscape parks, and the creations created by a man – precious heritage of S.Prokofiev, A.Kuindgy, N.Rerih. All of that you can visit, see with your own eyes, touch to amazing and wonderful things, on making excursions about Donetsk city and region.


Territory of Donetsk region

Donetsk region covers a south-eastern part of Ukraine, occupying 26,5 thousand sq. km of the Ukrainian earths, or 4,1 % of all the territory of the country. To cross the region from the south to the north, it is necessary to overcome 240 km, and from the West to the east – 170 km. The biggest cities of the region are Donetsk, Mariupol, Makeyevka, Gorlovka, Slavyansk, Enakievo, Artyomovsk, Kramatorsk, Konstantinovka, Krasnoarmeysk. The regional centre is the city of Donetsk.

The warm Azov Sea, rich in its curative properties, tenderly laps in the south of the region. On plunging into the Sea in the hot afternoon, it is possible not only to take pleasure in the sea cool, but also to enrich ones organism in useful chemical elements for which the water of the Azov Sea containing ions of iodine, sodium, potassium, magnesium and so forth, is famous. And to services of those who prefer combining business with pleasure, there is curative mud of the resorts of Azov; these muds contain a lot of useful organic and inorganic substances, enzymes and vitamins which have really salutary affect on a human body.

 

Hotels of Donetsk and Donetsk region

Гостиница Донбасс Палас

Donbass Palace Hotel

 

On going to visit Donetsk, it is possible to put aside safely any anxiety concerning the place of accommodation. To services of city visitors there is the five-stars Donbass Palace Hotel whose zest is the unique two-storied suite with 360-degree panoramic view; the Victoria Hotel Complex surrounded by a fine landscape park with fountains and game zones; the Ramada Hotel – the worthy representative of the well-known hotel network in Donetsk; the Central Business Hotel located in the downtown of Donetsk, the Spanish Patio Hotel, embodied the color of passionate Spanish culture in its interior and cuisine;

 

the ancient hotel Great Britain (Velikobritania) constructed in 1883 where A.Serafimovich, K.Paustovskiy, V.Mayakovskiy stayed in due time.

Hotels of Donetsk region are no less comfortable and cozy. In Svyatogorsk you are waited by luxury of the 5-star Roche Royal Hotel, in Mariupol – comfort of the city Grand Hotel, in the Komsomolsk village of Volnovahskiy district – rest and treating in the wellness complex Forest Park, and in Krasniy Lyman – active summer holiday on the bank of the cleanest lake, in the Skazka Ozera Hotel.


Recreational facilities in Donetsk

Гостиница «Донбасс Палас», Донецк

Donetsk. Lenin square

 

Green islets of parks and squares, bright colours of flower beds and solar highlight from splashes of the city fountains are intertwined wonderfully with the urban landscape of the city of Donetsk.

The Sherbakov Park of Culture and Rest ideally combines everything what is necessary both for rest in nature’s lap and for an active pastime. The choice is really rich.

It is possible to boat down the Kalmius River or to walk along the flower alley, enjoying the sweet aroma of roses in a rosary, going down directly to the water. 

It is possible to go for a ride on the toy machine or to look at a city from the height of the Ferris wheel, or even to ride on a horse on a colourful merry-go-round. It is possible to sit with friends in a cozy cafe, sharing the latest news behind a cup of fragrant coffee, or to take part in one of the festive concerts which take place so often in the Sherbakov park. And it is possible, or even it is necessary to visit Donetsk Dolphinarium Nemo, located on the park territory. Then pleasant impressions of walk will be added by bright memoirs about the show of “animal” actors – fur seals, dolphins-afalins and a sea lion. Walking on the park alleys, you by all means should be photographed near a flower bed – the Euro-2012 logo.


And if you come to the park with your beloved person, it is obligatory to leave a lock with your names on a figured handrail of the bridge, as a reminder of your love, which never will die away.

On the Pushkin boulevard you can sit on comfortable benches, enjoying murmur of fountains and aroma of flowers. If it becomes boring, you can walk along the boulevard, having a good look at the original stone sculptures under the general name Ukrainian steppe, you can be photographed near a forged sculpture-fountain The Rivers of Donbass or Mertsalov’s Palm – an honorable symbol of Donetsk region. Also on the boulevard you can see the works of local masters – pictures, souvenir plates, jewelry and many other things.

 

Pushkin boulevard

Donbass Arena Stadium

The Lenin Komsomol Park consists of 2 new modern parks: the park of the Victoria Hotel Complex and the park of the Donbass Arena Stadium. In the park of the hotel complex you can walk along an artificial river or walk through green alleys. And in park near the stadium you will be amused by the fountain cascade – the huge granite ball that has 28 tons in weight which rolls under the pressure of two streams of water, and also by the Philosophical garden – a rock-garden, the area of which is nearly 2,5 hectares.

The Park of Forged Figures allows finding yourself in the real fairy tale, where the forged figure of Pinocchio and Iron Woodcutter peacefully adjoin the wooden Baba Yaga. On walking along the park paths, you can find your zodiac or sit in the Arbor of Lovers which every summer meets happy newly-married couples who has arrived to the park to celebrate the first happy moments of their family life. The main adornment of the park – the copy of the UEFA Cup won by football club Shakhtar – personifies the spirit of Donetsk people in their eternal aspiration to achievements and victories.

The Park of Rest and Entertainments Gorodok is intended for the real family rest or cheerful pastime in the company of friends. There are more than 20 attractions, including Russian Hills, restaurant, cafe, fast foods, spacious green valleys and the equipped zones of rest in the park. The main detail of the park is an ice skating rink of the European level, with an all-the-year-round schedule of work.

 

The Park of Forged Figures.
UEFA Cup

Cultural life

It will be never boring in Donetsk to true judges of art. To services of theatre-goers and music fans there is the Donetsk regional philharmonic and 3 theaters: the Musical-Dramatic Theatre with unusual experimental stage and a theatrical living room, the Opera and Ballet Theater, the Puppet Theater. The international festivals of professional art such as “World ballet stars”, “Prokofiev’s spring” are annually held in the city, and in 2011 the International ballet competition by Serzh Lifar has passed with success in Donetsk.

FC Shakhter museum
 

Admirers of ancient time can plunge into the antiquity world, on visiting the Donetsk Museum of Local Lore, judges of graphic art will appreciate the richest collections of the Donetsk Art Museum. Those who prefer unusual expositions, should visit the Museum of history and development of the Donetsk railway at the railway station of Donetsk.

Here it is possible to see railway tools and the equipment, uniform of 1936, Morse telephone sets and even the real rare steam locomotives. One more original museum is settled down in the building of the Ministry of Internal Affairs of Ukraine in Donetsk region. 

It is the museum of history of Donetsk militia, among which such exhibits as the samples of uniform, the weapon of militiamen using during the Second World War, self-made guns, the bombs, the shooting handles withdrawn from criminals, and even the real militia motorcycle. Football fans will pass away time with pleasure in the FC Shakhter museum. There are the rare historical documents and photos, 23-meter Wall of Fame along which the original prints of palms and feet of the legendary football players and coaches of FC Shakhter made from molten metal cast in plaster moulds, the most important and significant cups and team trophies are presented, since the Cup of the USSR and finishing the UEFA Cup which “miners” won in May, 2009. Also visitors of the museum can enjoy watching one of the significant matches in the history of Shakhter while sitting in a cozy 25-seater cinema hall with accommodating an improvised 'fifth stand' (that's how they used to call the slag heap near the Central Stadium Shakhtar in the fifties and sixties) or spend time in the hall for video games.

Set of interesting and unique in its own way museums are opened in cities and villages of Donetsk region. You can visit the Gorlovka art museum with an extensive collection of canvases by N. Rerih or the unique Gorlovka museum of the miniature book. In the Mariupol showroom it is possible to get acquainted with works by A. Kuindgy creations, and in the Mariupol museum of history and ethnography of Greeks of Priazovye you will be inspired by the ancient history of the “sea” city. Fans of natural riches won't remain indifferent, having visited the museum of Velikoanadolskiy Forest in Komsomolskiy village in Volnovahskiy district or the National Architecture, Household and Children Creative Activity Museum in Prelestnoe village in Slavyanskiy district. Admirers of music by S.Prokofiev can get acquainted with the basic milestones of his life and creative activity in the memorial museum of the musician in Krasnoe village in Krasnoarmeyskiy district.

Sports

Donetsk by all means can be named as one of the main sports capitals in the country. Such significant international competitions as match meetings of the Davis Cup, UEFA Champions League, UCI Grand Prix of Donetsk, competitions of ESC European Shooting Cup, World International tournament for jumping “Donbass Tour”, European Kyokushinkai Championship, EBFF European Juniors and Masters Championships were held in Donetsk.

In the spring of 2011 Donetsk hosted the visitors and participants of IIHF World U-18 Championship. And in 2013 the city is going to host IAAF World Youth Championship.

But the main sports passion of Donetsk people is football. Inhabitants of Donetsk always sincerely endure defeat and explosively celebrate the victory of their favorite team FC “Shakhtar”. The constructed in 2009 Donbass Arena Stadium – the first stadium in Eastern Europe designed and built to meet UEFA regulations for elite stadiums – is always full of sincere fans and admirers of football. Donetsk gradually becomes one of the main football capitals in the country, having hosted in 2009 UEFA European Under-19 Championship where, by the way, Ukrainian National Youth Team became the winner. Besides Donetsk is going to host the UEFA EURO-2012 Championship.

Донецк и Донецкая область. Отдых в Донецке и Донецкой области

С вольного ветра бескрайних степей, запаха диких трав, ржания необъезженных лошадей и воинственных криков кочевников начинал свою историю Донецкий край. Скифы, сарматы, печенеги, половцы обживали Дикое поле, оставляя отпечаток своей истории, культуры и традиций на донецкой земле, вписывая повествования о славных боях в летопись истории. Именно картины их жизни, быта и сражений легли в основу «Слова о полку Игореве». Действительно, многими учеными-краеведами доказано, что события, описывающие славные сражения князя Игоря, происходили именно на территории донецкой земли.

Донецк

Донецк - шахтерская столица

 

На смену кочевникам пришли запорожские казаки. Обустроив зимовники на территории будущего Донецка, они охраняли путь из Дона на Запорожье, занимались скотоводством и земледелием. После эпохи казачества настала эпоха солеварения. Мелкие казенные солеварни переросли в первые солеваренные заводы на Донетчине: Бахмутский и Торский. А в 1721 году на Донецкой земле был найден уголь и история развития Донецкого края, сделав последний крутой виток, взяла курс на развитие угледобычи и фабрично-заводского производства.

Заводской поселок Юзовка, возникший вокруг первого металлургического завода, перерос в индустриальный город Сталино, который в 1932 году был переименован в Донецк – город промышленных терриконов и благоухающих роз, развитой промышленности и богатой развлекательной инфраструктуры, город приветливых и улыбчивых людей – сердце Донецкого края.

Донецк сегодня – это шахтерская столица, где трудолюбие и упорство людей позволили создать мощный промышленный комплекс, дать развитие целому ряду ключевых производственных отраслей и при этом поставить Донецк в один ряд с красивейшими европейскими городами. Просторные парки и скверы, полные зелени и ароматных цветов, европейская архитектура построек, высокий уровень сервиса ультрасовременных отелей, ресторанов, торгово-развлекательных и спортивных комплексов, атмосфера доброжелательности и комфорта заставляет чувствовать себя в Донецке как дома и хотеть возвращаться сюда снова и снова.

Донецкая область – подходящая оправа своему главному алмазу – городу Донецку. В различных ее уголках можно найти высокотехнологичные заводы и фабрики, первоклассные гостиничные комплексы и уютные гостевые коттеджи, «вкусные» рестораны и «зажигательные» ночные клубы, уникальные памятки истории и культуры, неповторимые произведения искусства, сотворенные природой – степные заповедники, заказники, ландшафтные парки, и творения, созданные человеком – драгоценное наследие С.Прокофьева, А.Куинджи, Н.Рериха. Все это можно посетить, увидеть собственными глазами, прикоснуться к удивительному и прекрасному, отправившись на экскурсии по Донецку и Донецкой области.


Территория Донецкой области

Донецкая область покрывает юго-восточную часть Украины, занимая 26,5 тыс. кв. км украинских земель, или 4,1 % всей территории страны. Чтобы пересечь область с юга на север, нужно преодолеть 240 км, а с запада на восток – 170 км. Наиболее крупные города области – Донецк, Мариуполь, Макеевка, Горловка, Славянск, Енакиево, Артемовск, Краматорск, Константиновка, Красноармейск. Областной центр – город Донецк.

На юге области ласково плещется теплое Азовское море, богатое своими целебными свойствами. Окунувшись жарким днем, можно не только насладиться приятной морской прохладой, но и обогатить организм полезными химическими элементами, которыми так славится морская вода Азовского моря, содержащая ионы йода, натрия, калия, магния и пр. А к услугам тех, кто предпочитает совмещать приятное с полезным, – целебные грязи курортов Азова, в них содержится масса полезных органических и неорганических веществ, ферментов и витаминов, которые оказывают поистине благотворное воздействие на организм человека.


Гостиницы Донецка и Донецкой области

Гостиница Донбасс Палас

Гостиница «Донбасс Палас»

 

Собираясь посетить Донецк, можно смело отложить в сторону всякое беспокойство о месте размещения. К услугам гостей города: пятизвездочный отель «Донбасс Палас», изюминкой которого является уникальный двухэтажный люкс с 360 градусами панорамного обзора; гостиничный комплекс «Виктория», окруженный прекрасным ландшафтным парком с фонтанами и игровыми зонами; гостиница «Рамада» – достойная представительница известной гостиничной сети в Донецке; бизнес-отель «Централь», расположенный в самом сердце

Донецка, гостиница «Испанский дворик», воплотившая в своем интерьере и кухне колорит страстной испанской культуры; старинная гостиница «Великобритания», построенная еще в 1883 году, где в свое время останавливались А. Серафимович, К. Паустовский, В. Маяковский

Гостиницы Донецкой области не менее комфортабельны и уютны. В Святогорске вас ждет роскошь пятизвездочной гостиницы «Роше Рояль», в Мариуполе – комфорт городской гостиницы «Гранд-отель», в п.г.т. Комсомольское Волновахского района – отдых и оздоровление в курортном комплексе «Форест Парк», а в Красном Лимане – активный летний отдых на берегу чистейшего озера, в гостинице «Сказка озера».


Места отдыха в Донецке

Гостиница «Донбасс Палас», Донецк

Донецк. Площадь Ленина

 

В урбанистический пейзаж города Донецка удивительным образом вплетаются зеленые островки парков и скверов, яркие краски цветочных клумб и солнечные блики от брызг городских фонтанов.

Парк культуры и отдыха им. А. Щербакова идеально совмещает в себе все, что нужно как для отдыха на лоне природы, так и для активного времяпровождения. Выбор действительно богат.

Можно покататься на лодочках по реке Кальмиус или прогуляться по цветочной аллее, наслаждаясь сладким ароматом роз в розарии, спускающемуся прямо к воде.

Можно прокатиться на игрушечной машинке или посмотреть на город с высоты «чертова» колеса, или даже оседлать лошадку на красочной карусели. Можно посидеть с друзьями в уютном кафе, делясь последними новостями за чашечкой ароматного кофе, или принять участие в одном из праздничных концертов, которые так часто проводятся именно в парке Щербакова. А можно, или даже скорее нужно, посетить Донецкий дельфинарий «Немо», расположенный на территории парка. Тогда к приятным впечатлениям от прогулки добавятся еще и яркие воспоминания о шоу «звериных» артистов – морских котиков, дельфинов-афалинов и морского льва. Прогуливаясь по аллеям парка, непременно сфотографируйтесь возле цветочной клумбы – логотипа Евро-2012. А если вы прейдете в парк с вашей любимой половинкой, обязательно оставьте замочек с вашими именами на узорчатых перилах моста, как напоминание о вашей любви, которая никогда не угаснет.

На бульваре Пушкина вы сможете посидеть на удобных лавочках, наслаждаясь журчанием фонтанов и ароматом цветов. Если станет скучно, можно пройтись по бульвару, рассматривая оригинальные каменные скульптуры под общим названием «Украинская степь», сфотографироваться возле кованой скульптуры-фонтана «Реки Донбасса» или Пальмы Мерцалова – почетного символа Донецкого края. Также на бульваре можно увидеть работы местных мастеров – картины, сувенирные тарелки, украшения и многое другое.

Парк Ленинского Комсомола объединил в себе 2 новых современных парка: парк гостиничного комплекса «Виктория» и парк стадиона «Донбасс Арена». 

 

 

Бульвар Пушкина

Донбасс Арена

В парке гостиничного комплекса можно прогуляться вдоль искусственной речушки или пройтись по ухоженным зеленым аллеям. А в парке возле стадиона поражает воображение фонтанный каскад – гигантский гранитный мяч весом 28 тонн, который вращается под давлением двух струй воды, а также «Философский сад» – сад камней, площадью около 2,5 га.

Парк кованых фигур позволяет погрузиться в настоящую сказку, где рядом с деревянной Бабой Ягой мирно соседствует кованая фигурка Пиноккио и Железного дровосека. Прогулявшись по дорожкам парка, можно отыскать свой знак зодиака или посидеть в фигурной кованой «Беседке влюбленных», которая каждое лето встречает счастливых молодоженов, приехавших в парк отметить первые счастливые моменты своей уже семейной жизни. Главное же украшение парка – копия кубка УЕФА, завоеванного футбольным клубом «Шахтер» – олицетворяет дух дончан в их вечном стремлении к достижениям и победам.

Парк отдыха и развлечений «Городок» предназначен для самого настоящего семейного отдыха или же веселого времяпровождения в компании друзей. Здесь более 20 аттракционов, включая «Русские горки», ресторан, кафе, фаст-фуды, просторные зеленные аллеи и обустроенные зоны отдыха. Главная же деталь парка – ледовый каток европейского уровня, с круглогодичным циклом работы.

 

Парк кованных фигур.
Кубок УЕФА

Культурная жизнь

Истинным ценителям искусства никогда не будет скучно в Донецке. К услугам театралов и меломанов – Донецкая областная филармония и 3 театра: музыкально-драматический театр с неординарной экспериментальной сценой и театральной гостиной, театр оперы и балета, кукольный театр. В городе ежегодно проводятся международные фестивали профессионального искусства «Звезды мирового балета», «Прокофьевская весна», а в 2011 году в Донецке с успехом прошел Международный балетный конкурс им. Сержа Лифаря.

Музей истории ФК «Шахтер»
 Поклонники старины смогут окунуться в мир древности, посетив Донецкий краеведческий музей, ценители же изобразительного и графического искусства оценят по достоинству богатейшие коллекции Донецкого художественного музея. Те же, кто предпочитает неординарные экспозиции, должны непременно посетить Музей истории и развития Донецкой железной дороги при железнодорожном вокзале станции Донецк. 

Здесь можно увидеть железнодорожные инструменты и оборудование, форменную одежду 1936 года, телефонные аппараты Морзе и даже настоящие раритетные паровозы. Еще один оригинальный музей расположился в здании УМВД Донецкой области. Это музей истории Донецкой милиции, среди экспонатов которого образцы форменной одежды, оружие милиционеров времен ВОВ, самодельные обрезы, бомбы, стреляющие ручки, изъятые у преступников, и даже самый настоящий милицейский мотоцикл. Футбольные фанаты с удовольствием скоротают время в музее истории ФК «Шахтер». Здесь представлены редкие исторические документы и фотографии, 23-метровая «Стена славы», вдоль которой размещаются вылитые из металла оригинальные отпечатки ладоней и ступней легендарных футболистов и тренеров «Шахтера», самые важные и значимые кубки и трофеи команды, начиная с Кубка СССР и заканчивая Кубком УЕФА, который «горняки» завоевали в мае 2009 года. Также гости музея могут насладиться просмотром одного из знаковых матчей в истории «Шахтера» в уютном кинотеатре на 25 посадочных мест с импровизированной «пятой трибуной» (так в 1950-60-х годах называли террикон возле ЦС «Шахтер») или же провести время в зале для видеоигр.

Множество интересных и в своем роде уникальных музеев открыто в городах и селах Донецкой области. В Горловке можно посетить Горловский художественный музей с обширной коллекцией полотен Н. Рериха или же уникальный Горловский музей миниатюрной книги. В Мариупольском выставочном зале можно познакомиться с творчеством А. Куинджи, а в Мариупольском музее истории и этнографии греков Приазовья проникнуться древней историей «морского» города. Любители природных богатств не останутся равнодушными, посетив музей Великоанадольского леса в пгт. Комсомольский Волновахского района или же музей народной архитектуры, быта и детского творчества в с. Прелестное Славянского района. Поклонники же музыки С. Прокофьева могут познакомиться с основными вехами его жизни и творчества в мемориальном музее музыканта в с. Красное Красноармейского района.


Спорт

Донецк с полным правом может носить титул одной из главных спортивных столиц страны. Такие знаковые международные соревнования, как матчевые встречи Кубка Дэвиса, Лиги Чемпионов УЕФА, международная велогонка Гран-при Донецка, соревнования Кубка Европы по стендовой стрельбе и Кубка Мира по конкуру Донбасс-Тур, Чемпионат Европы по карате киокушинкай, Чемпионат Европы по бодибилдингу среди юниоров и мастеров IFBB «отметились» в Донецке. Весной 2011 года Донецк радушно принимал гостей и участников Чемпионата мира по хоккею среди юниоров. А уже в 2013 году город готовится принять Чемпионат Мира по легкой атлетике среди юношей.

Но главной спортивной страстью дончан остается футбол. Жители Донецка всегда искренне переживают поражение и неистово празднуют победу своей любимой команды ФК «Шахтер». Построенный в 2009 году стадион «Донбасс Арена» – первый стадион в Восточной Европе, спроектированный и построенный в соответствии со стандартами УЕФА для стадионов категории «Элит» – всегда полон искренних фанатов и почитателей футбола. Донецк постепенно становится одной из главных футбольных столиц страны, приняв в 2009 году Чемпионат Европы по футболу среди юношей до 19 лет, в котором, кстати, победила украинская молодежная сборная, и готовясь принять Чемпионат Европы по футболу в 2012 году.